COMMERCIAL INTERLUDE

20 Jun

CareerSuicideEPUBCover

I’ve just rationalised (in most cases reducing) the prices of my books and ebooks so they’re consistent across like formats. Since I’m based in Britain and price things in pounds the prices may still translate into odd amounts in foreign currency, but they will at least now translate oddly and consistently.

Career Suicide is my memoir of working as an artist and film maker for most of my adult life, while experiencing almost every misfortune except popularity. I’ve been told it’s funny, a good read and it contains valuable insights on the art world’s foibles and failings. And slightly less valuable insights into my own.

Uncanny Valley collects my published short stories from various anthologies and magazines circa 1996-2006: among other things, a magic talking dog castrates the Estuary Gaffer Tape Rapist with his teeth, a robot maid trades housework for sabotage, and the last living intellectual escapes from his cage at the zoo and goes on a rampage of contemplation…

Buy Career Suicide or Uncanny Valley here.

2 Responses to “COMMERCIAL INTERLUDE”

  1. annika8595 06/07/2013 at 10:17 AM #

    Oh please would you write one on the RA Summer Exhibition, the exhibition for friends of friends from art school and a few interlopers who have to pay through the nose to get there???? I would love it.

    • Alistair 06/07/2013 at 10:29 AM #

      You’ve pretty much nailed what’s wrong with it already… I have been before but since– unlike many art critics– I don’t review, recommend or slate things I haven’t seen, and since I refuse to pay £11.50 to see a semi-random exhibition of tat which would be rejected by the shop on Brighton seafront that mainly sells pictures of cows and icecream cones, and since I’m not a Royal Academician (LOL), it’s unlikely that I’ll write anything very extensive this year about the RASE (which is very, very nearly an anagram of arse, isn’t it?)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,239 other followers

